JUSTIN SIROIS SLOWING DOWN IN NOSARA

2/06/11 Justin Sirois

Slowing Down in NosaraJustin in the Bamboo

Justin is doing work exchange here at Nosara B&B Retreat. His skills are amazing. He can do just about anything. Understated and soft-spoken, he is a true professional.  You would be surprised at his ability to tackle the most challenging of tasks like climbing high into the bamboo trees to cut them down.

“No problem,” he said, I was a steel worker. I enjoy heights!”

Justin shared, “I came to Nosara for a change in the way I was living. I wanted to experience something new, to slow down and get out of the stress, the rut of work and sleep I was caught up in there. I wanted to get in touch with myself. Back in Hartford, Connecticut I worked in a medium sized business, pouring concrete for seven years. The people I worked with were my best friends. I was dating the boss’s niece.

Work was good but I wanted a change.

My boss brought me here. He owns land in San Juanillo. I had never seen anything like it, the jungle, the dirt roads, everyone waves at you on the street even when you cut them off!

Even though it’s hard working here because it’s hard to get a decent job, the wages are low, and it’s hard physical work, when I’m working here, it’s still beautiful. *

I realize it’s the same for me living from check to check there or here. But I rather walk down the beach to the job site than the hour *commute in traffic back there. Even though it’s hard here, I get to walk down the beach and see the sunset.

My life now is much more simple. It’s just day to day with no one pushing me to do anything. It’s nice that I came alone so all the connections I’ve made are on my own merit. It’s different from at home where in my town I was known as a kid. Everything I’d done, good and bad was known. It’s nice starting over and building a better reputation.

I appreciate the experience of not having much, of being frugal, watching every dime. It’s a good change. Now I recognize that at home I was so wasteful. Here I can’t afford to waste. I’d rather repair clothes and things than get new things. It’s hard to get things here. Some things are nicer to live without like a cell phone. I actually enjoy doing all my communication on internet and using Facebook. That way, I’m not tethered to a phone.

What I enjoy most here is relaxing, fishing , and hanging out with the locals. People here are more natural. They don’t hold back. They say what they think, asnd are really helpful. The guy who just cut my hair is cool. He’s poor and shows me which plants are edible, “you can eat these leaves and these bananas,” he points out when we walk through the jungle.

I always enjoyed working with my hands and body. It’s nice at Nosara B&B to learn natural building techniques from Michael. It’s a different way of looking at things. I would like to keep traveling and see other cultures, other places in the world. At the same time, as bad as I want to go travel, I really love it here and I hate to leave.

Tica girls are crazy. It’s the Latin thing. They’re very dramatic. It’s mixed, like everywhere, they have good and bad sides. I’m not ready to settle down. Girls don’t seem to change. They’re emotionally crazy.

I’ve met lots of people in Nosara from all over the world. I have about twenty new Facebook friends.  I want to visit friends from Germany and Australia! It’s funny how dreams and goals change. Looking back at high school, I wanted to be the most popular guy. When I was in construction, I wanted to be the foreman. After six years, I gave that up. Now I just want to travel.

I think of all my friends over the years who didn’t make it, they either died, or are in prison. When I tell people I’m living in Costa Rica, they can’t believe it. I want to experience the world. I would like to keep traveling and see other cultures and places in the world. I don’t want anything that tethers me. My girlfriend back home understood.  “Go travel, experience the world, get it out of your system!” she said.

But my thoughts change day to day. Some days I think I couldn’t stay here. I want to buy a motorcycle and travel all around the U.S. Then when I have a great day I think, how could I leave this? I had a plan to start a fishing business here. Fishing is my passion. I ask myself “why are you beating up your body again with all this hard physical labor?” I’m not doing what I came down here to do. But at the same time, I’m happy doing what I’m doing.

Justin in the bamboo

02/06/11 Justin Sirois
Desaceleración en Nosara

Justin está haciendo el intercambio de trabajo aquí en Nosara B & B Retreat. Sus habilidades son increíbles. Él puede hacer cualquier cosa. Discreto y de voz suave, que es un verdadero profesional. Usted se sorprenderá de su capacidad para hacer frente al mayor desafío de las tareas como subir muy alto en los árboles de bambú para cortar.
“No hay problema”, dijo, era un trabajador del acero. Me gusta alturas! ”

Justin compartió, “Yo he venido a Nosara para un cambio en la forma en que estaba viviendo. Quería experimentar algo nuevo, ir más despacio y salir del estrés, la rutina del trabajo y de sueño que se vio envuelto en ese país. Quería ponerse en contacto conmigo. De vuelta en Hartford, Connecticut, que trabajó en un negocio de tamaño medio, verter el hormigón durante siete años. La gente que trabajaba eran mis mejores amigos. Yo estaba saliendo con la sobrina del jefe.

El trabajo era bueno, pero yo quería un cambio.
Mi jefe me trajo aquí. Él es dueño de la tierra en San Juanillo. Yo nunca había visto nada igual, la selva, los caminos de tierra, las olas de todo el mundo en que en la calle, incluso cuando se corta!
A pesar de que es difícil trabajar aquí porque es difícil conseguir un trabajo decente, los salarios son bajos, y es difícil el trabajo físico, cuando estoy trabajando aquí, es todavía hermoso. *
Me doy cuenta de que es lo mismo para mí vivir de cheque en cheque o no aquí. Pero prefiero caminar por la playa hasta el lugar de trabajo que el viaje * horas en el tráfico allí. A pesar de que es difícil aquí, me pongo a caminar por la playa y ver la puesta del sol.

Mi vida ahora es mucho más simple. Es sólo un día para otro sin que nadie me empujaba a hacer nada. Es bonito que he venido solo, así que todas las conexiones que he hecho son en mi propio mérito. Es diferente de la en casa, donde en mi pueblo me conoce como un niño. Todo lo que había hecho, el bien y el mal se conoce. Es bueno empezar de nuevo y la construcción de una mejor reputación.
Agradezco la experiencia de no tener mucho, de ser frugal, vigilando cada centavo. Es un buen cambio. Ahora reconozco que en mi casa me fue tan derrochador. Aquí no puede permitirse perder. Prefiero reparar ropa y cosas que tener cosas nuevas. Es difícil conseguir que las cosas aquí. Algunas cosas son más agradables para vivir, como sin un teléfono celular. De hecho, me gusta hacer todas mis comunicaciones en Internet y el uso de Facebook. De esa manera, no estoy atado a un teléfono.
Lo que más me gusta aquí es relajante, la pesca, y salir con los locales. Aquí la gente es más natural. No te detengas. Dicen lo que piensan, ASND son realmente útiles. El tipo que acaba de cortar el pelo es genial. Que es pobre y me muestra que las plantas son comestibles “, se puede comer estas hojas y los plátanos estos”, señala cuando caminamos por la selva.

Siempre he disfrutado de trabajar con mis manos y el cuerpo. Es bueno en Nosara B & B para aprender las técnicas de construcción natural de Michael. Es una forma diferente de ver las cosas. Me gustaría seguir viajando y ver otras culturas, otros lugares en el mundo. Al mismo tiempo, tan malo como yo quiero ir de viaje, me encanta estar aquí y no quiero irme.

Tica niñas están locas. Es la cosa latina. Son muy dramaticas. Se mezcla, como en todas partes, tienen lados buenos y malos. No estoy listo para establecer. Las chicas no parecen cambiar. Son emocionalmente loco.

He conocido a mucha gente en Nosara de todas partes del mundo. Tengo una veintena de nuevos amigos en Facebook. Quiero visitar a los amigos de Alemania y Australia! Es curioso cómo los sueños y las metas se cambio. Mirando hacia atrás en la escuela secundaria, yo quería ser el chico más popular.

Cuando yo estaba en construcción, que quería ser el capataz. Después de seis años, lo dejé. Ahora sólo quiero viajar.
Creo que de todos mis amigos en los últimos años que no lo hacen, que sea muerto, o están en prisión. Cuando digo que estoy viviendo en Costa Rica, no lo puedo creer. Quiero experimentar el mundo. Me gustaría seguir viajando y ver otras culturas y lugares del mundo. No quiero nada que me ata. Mi novia a casa entendido. “Ir de viaje, la experiencia del mundo, sacarlo de su sistema”, dijo.
Pero mis pensamientos cambian día a día. Algunos días creo que no podía quedarse allí. Quiero comprar una moto y viajar por todo los EE.UU. Luego, cuando tengan un buen día me parece, ¿cómo podría salir de esto?

Yo tenía un plan para iniciar un negocio de pesca aquí. La pesca es mi pasión. Yo me pregunto “¿por qué golpear a su cuerpo una vez más con todo este duro trabajo físico?” Yo no estoy haciendo lo que vino a hacer aquí. Pero al mismo tiempo, soy feliz haciendo lo que estoy haciendo.

Share Your Thoughts With Us

